Thursday, August 05, 2004

Future Soundtrack for America

The track listing for this album looks incredible.
I heard Mike Doughty's track earlier this summer at Solar Culture and if that sets the bar, these songs will be passionate, thoughtful, literate rock, pop and folk tunes across the board. A great bunch of titles.
Set for an Aug. 17 release, here's the listing:
  1. OK Go : This Will Be Our Year
  2. David Byrne : Ain't Got So Far To Go
  3. Jimmy Eat World : Game of Pricks (BBC evening session)
  4. Death Cab For Cutie : This Temporary Life
  5. Blink-182 : I Miss You (James Guthrie mix)
  6. Mike Doughty : Move On
  7. Ben Kweller : Jerry Falwell Destroyed Earth
  8. Sleater-Kinney : Off With Your Head
  9. R.E.M. : Final Straw (MoveOn mix)
  10. Bright Eyes : Going for the Gold (live)
  11. The Long Winters : The Commander Thinks Aloud (future mix)
  12. of The Black Eyed Peas : Money
  13. They Might Be Giants : Tippecanoe And Tyler Too
  14. Clem Snide : The Ballad of David Icke
  15. Yeah Yeah Yeahs : Date With the Night (live)
  16. Fountains of Wayne : Everything's Ruined (acoustic)
  17. Nada Surf : Your Legs Grow
  18. The Flaming Lips : Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (live on the BBC)
  19. Old 97's : Northern Line
  20. Laura Cantrell : Sam Stone
  21. Tom Waits : Day After Tomorrow
  22. Elliott Smith : A Distorted Reality Is Now A Necessity To Be Free
Also available, now or soon, Rock Against Bush, Steve Earle's The Revolution Starts Now (Aug. 24) and Green Day's American Idiot (Sept. 21), among what I'm sure are many others...

1 comment:

Peter said...

Tom Waits, Elliott Smith, Death Cab for Cutie - I want one! Thanks for putting this out there.